Church of Ireland, Boyle, Co. Roscommon

Church of Ireland
Green Street
Co. Roscommon

Buy Tickets



Carole Coleman is a news journalist and broadcaster and this is her fifth year presenting the “In Conversation” series for BAF.  Carole can be heard across a range of RTE news programs including This Week and Morning Ireland.  The mother of two lives in her home town of Carrick-on-Shannon. She is the author of two books on American culture and politics and her writing has appeared in the Irish Independent, Irish Examiner, Leitrim Guardian and Leitrim Observer.

Senator David Norris, is a member of the Trinity College Dublin University Panel in Seanad Eireann since 1987. As the longest serving member of Seanad Eireann he became “Father of the House” in 2011. He was a founding member of the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs.

He was first Foundation Scholar TCD (English Literature and Language) gained a double first Moderatorship MA TCD, Gold Medalist and Silver Medalist University Philosophical Society, Honorary Member Philosophical Society and College Historical Society, Dublin University Central Athletics Committee and Knights of the Campanile. He was Senior Lecturer in the Department of English in Trinity College Dublin from 1968 to 1996.

Senator Norris has twice been a member of the Board of St. Patrick’s Cathedral. He is one of Ireland’s leading Joyce scholars, was Founding Chairman of the James Joyce Centre and the North Great Georges Street Preservation Society, and was the longest serving Chairman of Friends of the Library Trinity College Dublin. His main areas of concern are national and international human and civil rights, equality issues, including for gay and lesbian people and the conservation of Dublin’s architectural heritage. He studied the piano with the late Lily Huban at the Reade Pianoforte School in Harcourt Street. He was a candidate in the Irish Presidential election 2011 and in 2012 his autobiography ‘A Kick Against the Pricks’ was published which has been nominated for several prizes. In 2015 he received an Honorary Doctorate from Trinity College Dublin